Skip to content
Caerphilly Counts — Caerphilly, in numbers.Local help →

Caerphilly, in numbers

People and living standards

Caerphilly council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Caerphilly council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 170,615 in 1991 to 176,078 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Caerphilly council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 167,385 people in 1996; 176,078 people in 2025. 5.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Caerphilly council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991170,615
1992170,129
1993170,243
1994169,559
1995168,186
1996167,385
1997167,532
1998167,921
1999168,566
2000169,045
2001169,546
2002170,776
2003171,363
2004172,361
2005172,777
2006173,741
2007174,987
2008176,259
2009177,159
2010178,101
2011178,782
2012178,563
2013178,236
2014178,513
2015178,269
2016178,013
2017177,610
2018177,277
2019176,735
2020176,805
2021175,999
2022176,001
2023176,277
2024176,232
2025176,078
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Caerphilly council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 37,355 people in 1996; 30,820 people in 2025. 17.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Caerphilly council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199137,885
199237,923
199338,160
199438,310
199537,889
199637,355
199737,221
199837,119
199936,953
200036,754
200136,564
200236,472
200336,157
200435,892
200535,375
200635,227
200735,030
200834,906
200934,828
201034,855
201134,831
201234,542
201334,022
201433,843
201533,826
201633,655
201733,572
201833,401
201933,120
202032,778
202132,355
202232,156
202331,980
202431,426
202530,820
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Caerphilly council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 104,708 people in 1996; 108,027 people in 2025. 3.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Caerphilly council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991108,143
1992107,327
1993107,114
1994106,094
1995105,114
1996104,708
1997104,915
1998105,304
1999106,053
2000106,640
2001107,094
2002108,143
2003108,835
2004109,818
2005110,542
2006111,407
2007112,348
2008113,352
2009113,781
2010113,997
2011114,124
2012113,149
2013112,454
2014112,119
2015111,241
2016110,553
2017109,889
2018109,231
2019108,501
2020108,624
2021108,031
2022107,782
2023107,968
2024108,103
2025108,027
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Caerphilly council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,322 people in 1996; 37,231 people in 2025. 47% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Caerphilly council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199124,587
199224,879
199324,969
199425,155
199525,183
199625,322
199725,396
199825,498
199925,560
200025,651
200125,888
200226,161
200326,371
200426,651
200526,860
200627,107
200727,609
200828,001
200928,550
201029,249
201129,827
201230,872
201331,760
201432,551
201533,202
201633,805
201734,149
201834,645
201935,114
202035,403
202135,613
202236,063
202336,329
202436,703
202537,231
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 175,955 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Caerphilly · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,5840.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2830.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,7541%
White171,95597.7%
Other ethnic group3790.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 178,806 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Caerphilly · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White175,84598.3%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,1740.7%
Asian/Asian British1,3460.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2420.1%
Other ethnic group1990.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 169,519 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Caerphilly · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White167,97199.1%
Mixed6200.4%
Asian/Asian British4530.3%
Black/Black British1220.1%
Chinese/Other3530.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 20% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Caerphilly council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,096 per person in 1997; £20,773 per person in 2024. 128.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Caerphilly council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,096
19989,078
19999,560
200010,374
200110,589
200210,680
200311,156
200411,573
200511,662
200611,756
200712,229
200812,534
200912,408
201012,626
201112,812
201213,331
201313,745
201414,069
201514,615
201614,954
201715,379
201815,684
201916,432
202016,770
202117,248
202218,134
202319,347
202420,773
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Caerphilly council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -14.3% in 1997; -20% in 2024. 5.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Caerphilly council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-14.3
1998-16.2
1999-15.5
2000-12.8
2001-14.4
2002-15.6
2003-14.4
2004-14.7
2005-17
2006-19.7
2007-20.3
2008-20.4
2009-22.5
2010-21.8
2011-21.4
2012-21.1
2013-21.5
2014-22.2
2015-23.2
2016-22.3
2017-21.9
2018-23.2
2019-22
2020-20.1
2021-21
2022-21
2023-20.9
2024-20
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

54%

21 March 2021 · Caerphilly council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

24.7%

21 March 2021 · Caerphilly council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

24.1%

21 March 2021 · Caerphilly council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

8.5%

21 March 2021 · Caerphilly council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£198,000

July 2026 · Caerphilly council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£747

August 2026 · Caerphilly council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.